The Eight Limbs of Yoga

The Philosophy of yoga is vast and is spans many thousands of years. The Eight limbs of Yoga  where written approximately two thousand years ago and give us a path to follow to realise ones own true nature. They give us a guidance for personal growth and transformation.

yoga svadhiyaya disciplina yoga


The Eight limbs are:

 The 5 Yamas: Moral codes

Ahimsa: Non-harming

Satya: Truthfullness

Asteya: Non-stealing

Brahmacarya: Integrity around sexuality/moderation

Aparigraha: Freedom from greed and desire


2. The Five Niyamas: Observances

Sauca: Purity

Santosha: Contentment

Tapas: Self-discipline


Ishvara Pranidhanda: Surrender to the Absolute



3. Asansa:Physical Postures

4. Pranayama: Extension of the life-force energy

5. Pratyahara: Turning inwards

6.Dharana: One pointed focus

7.Dhyana: Meditation

8. Samadhi: Enlightenment or Liberation